New SME Members Elected to the NAE
Date: February 15, 2021

New SME Members Elected to the NAE

Heartiest congratulations to Jim Arnold, Gary Goldberg, Nick Hazen, and Nikhil Trivedi!

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during the NAE's annual meeting on Oct. 3, 2021.

Learn more at