Ronald J. O'Malley (AIST)

AIME Honorary Membership in 2021

For his outstanding applied research in the production of specialty and carbon steels, O’Malley is recognized as one of the world’s foremost experts in the continuous casting process, including modeling, simulation and decarbonization technologies. His work has been acknowledged by his peers through a variety of awards, including the AIST Distinguished Member and Fellow Award and the AIST/AIME Benjamin F. Fairless Award, in addition to his current tenure as AIST president. Throughout his career in industry and to his current role as professor and director of the Kent D. Peaslee Steel Manufacturing Research Center at Missouri University of Science and Technology, O’Malley has exemplified the true spirit in which the Institute was founded.

Ronald J. O’Malley received B.S. and M.S. degrees in materials engineering from Drexel University in 1978, and a Ph.D. in metallurgy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1983. In 1984, he joined Alcoa’s research center to work on casting and refining technologies in aluminum. In 1988, he joined Armco Inc.’s Technology Center in Middletown, Ohio, which later became part of AK Steel, where he conducted steelmaking and casting research and development for a diverse mix of flat rolled specialty steels, including developments in the thin-slab casting of stainless steels at AK Mansfield. He is currently employed as chief metallurgist at Nucor Steel–Decatur LLC, where he is responsible for metallurgical development and for steelmaking and casting process support within Nucor. Dr.O’Malley has published numerous papers in the fields of continuous casting and steel processing, has taught numerous short courses on the continuous casting of carbon and specialty steels, and was the recipient of the 1999 Charles Herty Jr. award. He is currently serving as the Conference Planning Committee chair for AISTech 2013, papers chair for the Continuous Casting Technology Committee (CCTC) for AISTech 2012, chair for the Materials Advantage Committee for 2013 and is a lecturer for the AIST short courses “Continuous Casting — A Practical Training Seminar” and “The Making, Shaping and Treating of Steel.” He has previously served on the AIST board of directors as liaison for the CCTC and the Ladle & Refining Technology Committee. He is also currently serving on the selection committee for the FeMET and StEEL student scholarships and the selection committee for the Elliott Lectureship Award.