Awards & Scholarships

Robert H. Wagoner

Robert H. Wagoner (TMS)

AIME Honorary Membership in

For research accomplishment in the mechanical behavior of materials, as an educator of generations of students in these areas, and for reforming AIME toward a sustainable future.

Robert H. Wagoner is the George R. Smith Chair at The Ohio State University. With principal appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, he is also Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Director of CAMMAC: the Center for Advanced Materials and Manufacturing of Automotive Components. From 1992 to 1996, he was Chairman of the MSE Department. Professor Wagoner is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and Fellow of five professional societies in materials engineering, mechanical engineering, and automotive engineering: TMS, ASM International, ASME, SAE, and AIME. Before joining Ohio State, he was Staff Research Scientist at the G. M. Research Laboratories, 1977-83, and NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Oxford, 1976-77. He received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Metallurgical Engineering from Ohio State University in 1974, 1975, and 1976. Dr. Wagone's group performs a variety of research related to metal forming: experimental and analytical, applied and basic. He is the author of more than 250 technical articles, 2 proceedings volumes, 2 combined proceedings and authored books, and 2 text books in the areas of metal forming, plasticity theory, finite element analysis, mechanical behavior of materials and micro-mechanisms of deformation. He has presented over 100 international and invited papers on these research topics, and has advised 22 masters and 22 doctoral student theses. Dr. Wagoner serves as a consultant to industry with regard to mechanical and materials engineering, particularly regarding die forming, sheet materials, medical devices and automotive applications. His research has received national recognition, including the Robert Lansing Hardy Gold Medal, Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award (twice), Presidential Young Investigator Award, SAE Melbourne Award, and the Champion H. Mathewson Gold Medal. At OSU, Dr. Wagoner was named Distinguished Professor of Engineering in 1999 and Distinguished Scholar in 1990; he received the Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education in 1988, and won College of Engineering Research Awards in 1987, 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2008. Dr. Wagoner was President of AIME (The American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers) in 2003-204, President of TMS (The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society) in 1997-98 and President of the TMS Foundation in 1998-99. He was the co-organizer of the first and second Japan-America Frontiers of Engineering for the National Academy of Engineering. Other service work includes: Trustee of AIME, 1997-99; Trustee of Orton Ceramic Foundation, 1992-96; Governor of Acta Materialia, 1999-2002; and Director of the OSU Research Foundation, 1990-94. Recent service work for the National Academy of Engineering includes chairing the Gordon Prize Committee, chairing the Materials Section, and chairing the Materials Peer Committee, as well as being a member of the NAE-wide Committee on Membership.