Awards & Scholarships

Rajagopal S. Raghavan

Rajagopal S. Raghavan (SPE)

AIME Honorary Membership in

For his outstanding contributions to the technology of well test analysis, for his exceptional leadership of young engineers, and for his career-long support of the Society's mission.

Rajagopal Raghavan retired as a senior staff associate reservoir engineer at Phillips Petroleum Company in 2002. His primary interests are in unsteady flow of fluids in porous media with emphasis on computational techniques and in the description of oil and gas reservoirs. He holds a PhD degree from Stanford University, a diploma in petroleum production engineering from the University of Birmingham, England, and a BSc in electrical engineering form the Birla Institute of Technology, Ranchi, India. Dr. Raghavan has 30 years experience in academia and industry. He inaugurated the McMan Chair in the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences at the University of Tulsa in 1982, and the Adams Chair in the Department of Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University in 1989. he has written over 90 refereed publications and two books. An active member of SPE, Dr. Raghavan received the Reservoir Engineering Award in 1988, served as a Distinguished Lecturer, and is a Distinguished Member of SPE. He is also a recipient of the SPE Distinguished Petroleum Engineering Faculty Award. For the past five years, he has been a member of the Education Accreditation Commission of ABET on behalf of SPE. In 2001, he was elected to the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences receiving the Kapista medal.