Jeremy Jones (AIST)

AIME Honorary Membership in

For his exemplary service to the industry and the association, and for his commitment to the education of steelmakers worldwide. Jones’ technical acumen in the field of electric steelmaking is evidenced by his numerous contributions to AIST training seminars and international conferences, his authorship of the electric steelmaking chapter in the Steelmaking Volume of AIST’s The Making, Shaping and Treating of Steel, and by the more than 100 papers he has authored. One of the original instructors of AIST’s Modern Electric Furnace Steelmaking training seminar, Jones is known worldwide as an expert in electric steelmaking technologies. In addition to his tireless service to a variety of AIST committees, Jones also served as a global representative for EAF steelmakers through his tenure as chairman of the World Steel Association’s EAF Technology Committee

Jeremy Jones earned a B.Sc. degree in chemical engineering in 1983 at Queen’s University, followed by an M.Sc. degree in chemical engineering in 1985. He is a founding partner and president of Continuous Improvement Experts (CIX). Previously he held senior positions at Transfield Services, Tenova, WorleyParsons, Nupro Corp., Bechtel Corp., Florida Steel, and Hatch Associates. He is the past chairman of the WorldSteel EAF Technology Committee. His steelmaking experience spans direct reduction, smelting reduction, EAF steelmaking, blast furnace operations, BOF operations, ladle metallurgy, vacuum treatment, and casting operations for all grades of steel. Jones has been a member of ISS/AIST since 1988. He has been a member of and chaired numerous committees during his tenure. He was one of the original instructors of AIST’s Modern Electric Furnace Steelmaking training seminar and is frequently invited as a keynote speaker for international steel conferences. He is the primary author of the EAF steelmaking chapter for the updated Steelmaking volume of The Making Shaping and Treating of Steel. Jones is a Fellow of the International Iron Metallics Association and was elevated to AIST Distinguished Member and Fellow in 2013. He received the AIST John Bell Award in 2015.