Awards & Scholarships

Akhil Datta-Gupta

Akhil Datta-Gupta (SPE)

AIME Honorary Membership in

For his seminal contribution in high resolution fluid flow simulation using streamlines and dynamic data integration leading to improved reservoir characterization, reservoir management and field performance assessment.

Dr. Akhil Datta-Gupta is University Distinguished Professor, Regents Professor and holder of L. F. Peterson ‘36 Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M U. in College Station. He received his Ph.D in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin (1992). Dr. Datta-Gupta worked for BP Exploration/Research (1986-1990) and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (1992-1994) before joining Texas A&M in 1994. Dr. Datta-Gupta was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 2012"for developing the theory and practice of streamline simulation for fluid flow in heterogeneous reservoirs." Dr. Datta-Gupta received two of the top three SPE technical awards (Carll Award, 2009; Uren Award, 2003) and twice awarded the SPE Cedric K Ferguson Certificate (2000; 2006). He is also recipient of 2015 SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty. He is an SPE distinguished member (elected, 2001), distinguished lecturer (1999-2000), distinguished author (2000) and was selected as an outstanding technical editor (1996). In addition to his SPE awards, he is recipient of the AIME Rossiter W. Raymond award (1992) and the U.S. Department of Energy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Basic Research in Geosciences (2008). Dr. Datta-Gupta has published over 100 peer reviewed technical papers and four books including an SPE textbook.