National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

AIME leadership annually participates in functions hosted by related engineering groups, such as the NAE Convocation.

Many individuals from AIME's Member Societies have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.  For information, visit

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. Election to the NAE membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. NAE members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations. Their role as an NAE member is to take an active role in upholding the NAE mission, vision and values.

Vision  - To be the trusted source of engineering advice for creating a healthier, more secure, and more sustainable world.

Mission - Advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering.

Awards - Honor leaders in engineering for their lifetime dedication to their field and their commitment to advancing the human condition through great engineering achievement and/or through innovation in engineering and technology education. The NAE dedicates more than $1 million annually to recognize these leaders and to bring better understanding of the importance of engineering and engineering education to society.

  • Charles Stark Draper Prize: honors an engineer whose accomplishment has significantly impacted society by improving the quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting the access to information. $500,000 cash award presented biennially. []
  • The Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize: recognizes an outstanding bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. $500,000 cash award presented biennially (odd number years). []
  • Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education: recognizes individuals and their organization for fostering the development of engineering leaders through innovative educational programs developed by U.S. institutions of learning in the U.S. $500,000 cash award presented annually, with half going t the recipient and the other half to the institution to support continued development of the program. []
  • Simon Ramo Founders Award []
  • Arthur M. Beuche Award []
  • Gibbs Brothers Medal []
  • J.C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering []