Ronald J. O'Malley

Ronald J. O'Malley (AIST)

Benjamin F. Fairless Award for Distinguished Achievement in Iron and Metallurgy* in 2012

For advancing the understanding of steel quality in continuous casting by serving as a mentor and teacher to all levels of the steel industry. His many years as a presenter at AIST training seminars have helped to ensure a strong and capable workforce.

Ronald J. O’Malley received B.S. and M.S. degrees in materials engineering from Drexel University in 1978, and a Ph.D. in metallurgy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1983. In 1984, he joined Alcoa’s research center to work on casting and refining technologies in aluminum. In 1988, he joined Armco Inc.’s Technology Center in Middletown, Ohio, which later became part of AK Steel, where he conducted steelmaking and casting research and development for a diverse mix of flat rolled specialty steels, including developments in the thin-slab casting of stainless steels at AK Mansfield. He is currently employed as chief metallurgist at Nucor Steel–Decatur LLC, where he is responsible for metallurgical development and for steelmaking and casting process support within Nucor. Dr.O’Malley has published numerous papers in the fields of continuous casting and steel processing, has taught numerous short courses on the continuous casting of carbon and specialty steels, and was the recipient of the 1999 Charles Herty Jr. award. He is currently serving as the Conference Planning Committee chair for AISTech 2013, papers chair for the Continuous Casting Technology Committee (CCTC) for AISTech 2012, chair for the Materials Advantage Committee for 2013 and is a lecturer for the AIST short courses “Continuous Casting — A Practical Training Seminar” and “The Making, Shaping and Treating of Steel.” He has previously served on the AIST board of directors as liaison for the CCTC and the Ladle & Refining Technology Committee. He is also currently serving on the selection committee for the FeMET and StEEL student scholarships and the selection committee for the Elliott Lectureship Award.