SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition 2019*
Date: September 29, 2019 - October 2, 2019

SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition 2019*

Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Organization Name: SPE
Organization Links:

More than 6,000 oil and gas professionals converged onto Calgary's BMO Centre for the 2019 Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE). For the first time in its 95-year history, the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) annual meeting of members and flagship event was held in Canada. AIME Trustee from SPE, Jennifer Miskimins, presented an AIME update to SPE's Board and attended the Past Presidents' (OWLS) Dinner. AIME Executive Director, Michele Lawrie-Munro, captured an interview with SPE staff member Glenda Smith, and University of Calgary Professor, Roberto Aguilera. He was honored Tuesday evening with the Distinguished Service Faculty Award. AIME President from TMS and AIST, Hani Henein, was also in attendance Tuesday to help confer the following: AIME/SPE Honorary Membership to Maria Capello, Anuj Gupta, Franklin M. Orr Jr., Jeff Spath, and Ganesh Thakur; AIME McConnell Award to Ahmed S. Abou-Sayed; AIME Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal to Kamel Bennaceur; Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal to Carlos Torres-Verdin; DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal to Hemanta K. Sarma; and the Rossiter W Raymond Memorial Award to Lu Chi and Zoya Heidari.