National Mining Hall of Fame Induction Banquet 2017
Date: September 23, 2017

National Mining Hall of Fame Induction Banquet 2017

Location: Denver, CO
Organization Name: National Mining Hall of Fame
Organization Links:
Contact: Francine Webber

AIME President, John Speer, Past President, Nikhil Trivedi, Treasurer, Ta Li, and his wife, Tu, and Executive Director, Michele Lawrie-Munro attended the 30th annualNational Mining Hall of Fame Induction Banquet on September 23rd, 2017 in the Pinnacle Club of the Grand Hyatt in Denver, CO.  Also in attendance were AIME 2000 President, Bob Murray, and SME Executive Director, Dave Kanagy, his wife Trish, and SME staff, Jackie Dorr.  AIME 1988 President Tom Falkie and long-time SME and TMS member (and 2016 Hoover Award recipient), Len Harris, were a part of the 2017 class (which also included former USGS Director, Vincent McKelvey and former Newmont CEO, Gordon Parker). Nominations for the 2018 class can be submitted by December 31st to   

The organization held both silent and live auctions to raise money.  They also did a tribute to mining sculptor Gary Prazen who recently passed away and honored the Boy Scouts of America with the Prazen Living Legend of Mining Award for their "work educating the public about the importance of the mineral and mining industry to our everyday lives" via their promotion of the Mining in Society Merit Badge.  Since the launch in February 2014, more than 12,000 scouts have earned the badge.  Additional details can be found in the attached program.