AISTech 2019*
Date: May 5, 2019 - May 8, 2019

AISTech 2019*

Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Organization Name: AIST
Contact: Shannon Kiley

The steel industry took over the city of Pittsburgh for AISTech 2019 with over 8,000 attendees, 107 technical sessions, and 549 exhibitors at The Iron & Steel Conference and Exhibition. During dinner at the historic The Pennsylvanian, AIME Past President from AIST, John Speer, gave the AIME Presidential Citation to George Koenig for his service on AIME's History and Heritage Committee, and AIME President from SPE, Roland Moreau, conferred Honorary Membership on Wendell Carter. Other AIME honorees included Brian G. Thomas receiving the Benjamin F. Fairless Award, Kyle Ferron receiving the J.E. Johnson Award, and the Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper recipients: 1st Place: Nozomu Oda, Yasunori Nozaki, Takumi Oohata, Paul Fleiner, Tatsuya Tokunaga and Hidenori Era; 2nd Place: James E. Bradley, Gregory Gabbert, Russell Mulligan, Garrett P. Flick, David Sena and Tyler T. Preall; 3rd Place: Rachel A. Stewart, John G. Speer, Brian G. Thomas, Amy J. Clarke, Emmanuel De Moor. Finally, AIME staff captured oral histories from prominent AIST members, Dale Heinz, Harriet Dutka, Sara Hornby, and Michael Strelbisky. Be watching for those to be uploaded to AIME's Oral Histories webpage in early 2020.