James Boyd

James Boyd

AIME Past Trustee
1968 - 1970
Member Society

James Boyd is president and a director of Copper Range Corporation. During his 40-year career in the mineral industry, he has been an educator, a government official, and finally a top business executive.

Born in Australia, Dr. Boyd received his early education in England. He came to the United States and was graduated from the California Institute of Technology. He earned his Master of Science and Doctor of Science degrees at the Colorado School of Mines.

Dr. Boyd began his career as an educator when he joined the faculty at the Colorado School of Mines in 1929. He held this post for several years. During World War II he helped mobilize the mining industry to meet the war effort, serving as head of the Army and Navy Munitions Board's Metal Branch.

Following the war, Dr. Boyd assisted in Germany's industrial recovery by serving as director of the Industrial Division of the military government. From 1947 to 1951 he was director of the U. S. Bureau of Mines. Upon leaving the Bureau, Dr. Boyd joined Kennecott Copper Company. During his nine years (1951-1960) with the firm he held the position of vice-president of exploration. In this capacity he directed Kennecott's worldwide exploration program.

President Boyd has held his present position, president and director of Copper Range, since 1960, the year he joined the company. He is also a director of New Jersey Zinc Company and Detroit Edison Company. In 1964 he was named Copper-Man-of-the-Year by the Copper Club. Cal Tech honored him with its Distinguished Alumni Award in 1966, and the Society of Mining Engineers of AIME conferred its Daniel C. Jackling Award on him in 1967 and the Mineral Economics Award posthumously in 1988.

Dr. Boyd served as chairman of the National Science Foundation's advisory committee on mineral research from 1953 to 1956. He is a past president of the Mining and Metallurgical Society of America and of the Copper Club. In 1963, AIME honored Dr. Boyd with its Charles F. Rand Gold Medal and in 1974 with Honorary Membership.  He received the prestigious Hoover Medal in 1975.